Greg’s View: Why Do I Workout So Hard?

People ask me this question a lot. It doesn’t seem to matter where I am, whether it’s at a hotel gym or here at Premier Martial Arts, it’s the same all the time. “Wow you really give it” they say. My answer? It makes me harder to kill!

I have been in the martial arts for most of my life and have served in the military. There have been many times where I have been in a bad spot physically and the only thing that saved me was not my intelligence but my body. The body is an incredible thing. We’re built to move. The body is a machine and if you don’t use it you lose it. Just like a machine the parts get stiff and rusty. In a self defense situation if you have rusty parts you are going to find out the hard way that life is rough.

I run not because I want to win a race, or to look great, but to be able to outrun the guy with the knife. I lift weights not to be huge but to be strong enough to take the punishment from the big guy trying to take my wallet. I want to be harder to kill!

Leave a Reply

