Selfies, Salads and the Revival of a Blog

It’s been a long time. Too long. “Dear Internet, it has been 169 days since my last blog post.” That’s a cyberspace eternity.

In my defense there has been a bit of stuff going on in my life. I’ve been pushing to finish my Holistic Nutritionist course in the two year time limit. And then there’s that whole running a CrossFit gym thing. That’s a big job! Between special events, revamping our martial arts program and hosting a nutrition challenge and seminar series it has been a busy six months. Oh, and I joined a service club. I guess that makes me a big girl now.

And then my mother-in-law was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. Cancer is such a beast. We’ve heard all the prognoses. We’ve been given time frames. We have a new vocabulary. Stage IV. “Two weeks to two months.” Metastasis. We’ve spent more time in hospitals in the last two and a half months than we have in our entire lives. It has been extremely stressful. She’s still with us, surpassing her best before date. Hey, you’ve got to laugh…

So I let this baby slide…I have to admit I was debating whether to keep this blog going. I write for my husband’s website and was thinking that maybe this blog was superfluous. That is until I read a new blog by another fitness professional I know. She posted about salads and rah, rah, rah “you can do it” motivation and her time on the elliptical. And then there were the selfies. Lots of selfies! Talk about insipid. The last thing the world needs is another lame fitness blog.

All of that drivel inspired me to revive this old thing. I’m breathing some new life into this blog – even if only a few people read it. I promise not to drone on about salads and ellipticals. Instead I’ll do what I’ve done well in the past– write intelligent, thought provoking articles.

And I promise I will never, ever post a selfie!

 

 

 

 

Comments
One Response to “Selfies, Salads and the Revival of a Blog”
  1. Cathy says:

    Can’t wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

